Chair’s Message

As 2020 is in full swing, the list of what is going right in the Central Phoenix corridor is a long one that provides much to celebrate for our residents, city and state. Terrific cities have a personality and a vibe that is uniquely their own.  And a vital urban core is often a critical driver in what makes a city great.  Civic pride happens in collaboration between neighbors, neighborhoods, corporate citizens, smart government, and willing investors who collectively foster a “can do” spirit that welcomes all people and makes room for new ideas.

Anyone who has been in Phoenix for a long time or even the last few years can easily see that Central Phoenix is on the move in a big way.  It feels like we have reached a tipping point and momentum is full throttle.   At almost every turn, there is something noteworthy going on across a wide range of sectors: multifamily housing, infill development, neighborhood revitalization, university expansion projects, new construction, restaurants, museums, Roosevelt Row’s national prominence, and sports and entertainment venues.  Where challenges remain, I am confident that solutions will follow.  It is truly an exciting time to live, work and play in Central Phoenix.


You are invited to connect with PCA though our newsletter and website, and join us as we work together to build this great place we call home.


Diane Haller

“As a longtime member of Phoenix Community Alliance, it is especially gratifying to see how diverse the revitalization and development projects are in the Central Phoenix corridor. The heart of Phoenix is alive and well.”

Executive Committee

Officers & Committee Chairs

Diane Haller
Partner, Quarles & Brady

Chair: 3-year term ending Dec. 2020

Kurt Schneider
President, LD Schneider & Associates

Vice Chair: 3-year term ending Dec. 2021

Carol Poore, PhD
Private Professional

Vice Chair: 3-year term ending Dec. 2020

Beau Lane
CEO, Laneterralever

Vice Chair: 3-year term ending Dec. 2020

Christina Noyes
Attorney, Gust Rosenfeld

Secretary: 2-year term ending Dec. 2020

Howard Epstein
National Executive, OREO/Real Estate Sales, B of A

Treasurer: 2-year term ending Dec. 2020

Mo Stein
Principal, HKS Architects

Immediate Past Chair,

Social & Housing Advancement Committee Co-Chair

John Hamby
Executive Director
Catrina Kahler
President, Artlink Inc.

Arts, Culture & Public Life Chair

Billy Shields
Hansji Corporation

Central City Planning & Development 


Matthew Seaman
Principal and Development Partner, Metrowest Development

Central City Planning & Development


Heidi Schaefer
Director, Corporate Taxation, SRP

Education Committee Chair

Larry Lazarus
Partner, Lazarus & Silvyn

Hance Park Fundraising


Tim Sprague
Principal, Habitat Metro

Hance Park Fundraising


Joel McCabe
COO, Trellis

McDowell Rd. Revitalization


Bryan Albue
Private Professional

Membership Engagement


Krista Shepherd
Principal, Gould Evans

Multi-Modal Connectivity


Rick Naimark
Associate VP for Program Development Planning, ASU

Multi-Modal Connectivity


Ruben Alvarez
Managing Partner, Molera Alvarez

Public Affairs Chair

Sheila Harris, PhD.
Private Professional

Social & Housing Advancement Committee Chair

Members at Large

Ruben Alonzo, Executive Director, Community & Municipal Relations, ASU

Steve Sorrentino, GM Energy Center Phoenix, Clearway Energy

Steve Zabilski, Executive Director, Society of St. Vincent de Paul


Diane Haller, Chair

Kurt Schneider, Vice Chair

Carol Poore PhD, Vice Chair

Beau Lane, Vice Chair

Christina Noyes, Secretary

Howard Epstein, Treasurer

Mo Stein, Immediate Past Chair

John Hamby, Executive Director

Committee Chairs

Catrina Kahler, Arts, Culture & Public Life

Billy Shields, Central City Planning  & Development

Matthew Seaman, Central City Planning & Development

Heidi Schaefer, Education

Larry Lazarus, Hance Park Fundraising

Tim Sprague, Hance Park Fundraising

Joel McCabe, McDowell Road Revitalization

Bryan Albue, Membership Engagement

Rick Naimark, Multi-Modal Connectivity

Krista Shepherd, Multi-Modal Connectivity

Ruben Alvarez, Public Affairs

Sheila Harris, PhD, Social & Housing Advancement Committee

Mo Stein, Social & Housing Advancement Committee

Director Level Members

Ruben Alonzo, Executive Director, Community & Municipal Relations, ASU

Chris Anderson, Managing Director, Hines

Victor Burrola, Community Development Officer, Arizona, Wells Fargo

Dawn Hart, Co-Managing Director, Principal, Gensler

Stephen Herring, Municipal Relations Manager, Republic Services

Troy Hoberg, Senior Vice President, AECOM/Hunt

Kyle Jardine, Director, Development, Wexford Science + Technology

Steve Jennings, Associate State Director, AARP

Chad Kemper, Director of Sales, 12 News/Tegna

Alvaro Sande, Development Principal, Katerra

Heidi Schaefer, Director, Corporate Taxation, SRP

John Scherpf, Chief Operating Officer, Banner University Medical Center – Phoenix

Krista Shepherd, Principal, Gould Evans

Dave Todd, General Manager – Phoenix Transit, Transdev Services Inc.

Julie Trujillo, Director, External Relations, UA Eller College of Management

Jay Zaghloul, Director, Business Development, Clearway Energy

Members at Large

Maria Baier, SVP of Communications and Public Affairs, Phoenix Suns

Terry Burke, President Southwest – Music, Live Nation

Chris Burson, SVP of Commercial Real Estate, Alliance Bank of AZ

Brian Cassidy, President, CCBG Architects

Mike Ebert, Managing Partner, RED Development

Greg Falls, Attorney, Sherman & Howard

Sandra Ferniza, Private Professional

Kyle Foxcroft, Finance, Tuft & Needle

Leah Fregulia, CEO, Arizona School for the Arts

Lisa Glow, CEO, Central Arizona Shelter Services (CASS)

Ashley Harder, Private Professional

Lauren Henschen, CEO, Phoenix Center for the Arts

Jay Hicks, Design Principal, Dig Studio

Angela Hughey, Co-Founder & President, ONE Community

Ryan Kerr, Development Manager, True North

Kendra Lee, Area Manager, APS

Mark McLaren, VP, HDR

Jim McPherson, Private Professional

Eva Olivas, Executive Director/CEO, Phoenix Revitalization Corporation

Dominic Papa, Founder, Institute for Digital Progress AZ

Lisa Perez, Private Professional

Mark Stratz, SVP | City Leader, Transwestern

Kathey Wagner, CEO, EPS Group

Kate Wells, President & CEO, Children’s Museum of Phoenix

Brad Woodman, Office Director/Vice President, SmithGroup

Steve Zabilski, Executive Director, Society of St. Vincent de Paul